+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Web Standards

Web Standards

How many of you do it? Follow web standards I mean.

I started practicing web standards about 3 months ago. I decided I was going to learn how to use XHTML. That lead me to buy a book titled "Designing with Web Standards" written by Jeffrey Zeldman. Reading this book made me realize how bad my practices were and what I needed to do to begin designing better. All and all, I begin using XHTML and CSS. I started learning about the DOM (Document Object Model) and a few months later, WALLAH! I am now designing with web standards and it feels great.

If you want to learn how to design a site with web standards, pick this book up. I also recommend "Eric Meyer on CSS by Eric Meyer and "More Eric Meyer on CSS" by the same guy.

Anyone know any other great resources?
    Coltura Creativa: Create.Critique.Conquer
    Articles & Reviews

Full Member Marshall is on a distinguished road
    I dont normally follow the web standards, i go by what works and looks good in different browsers. I may start trying to convert my coding to web standard for fun but I dunno. Ill check out that book if I do.

I really recommend you trying it out Marshall.

How many versions of a site do you have to make?

How much Javascript do you have to create to identify browsers so that you can display the site appropriately?

With web standards that is not a variable. Your bandwidth goes down by a lot. For example when the company's website was converted, each page went from around 15-20K to about 5-10K.

The reason for this is that since you aren't using anymore table tags your code cuts down by a lot. Which leaves more content then code. The search engines will probably LOVE that.

Ok that's my extra two cents.
    Articles & Reviews

Full Member scannon is on a distinguished road
    I am a huge advocate of web standards and for many reasons.