+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Per page or time?

Active Member WorldBuilder is on a distinguished road

Per page or time?

When you design a site for a client, do you charge per page or for overall time? Which is better in your humble opinion?

Chris
    My Site | My Blog
    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    "Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results"
    --Albert Einstein

Active Member Revenant is on a distinguished road
    page if personal, hour if commercial.
    // Rev
    // Ivan Alfaro
    -- Professional Web Developer

Full Member cdingman is on a distinguished road
    Depends. I usually find out exactly what they want and negotiate a flat fee with them.

I guess I don't really do either. I negotiate with them.

Seeings as I'm just getting into the business as a paid designer, I can't really say.

Chris Dingman
    Webmaster
    <A HREF="http://www.cabarettheatre.org" target="_blank">Cabaret Theatre</A><BR>
    <A HREF="http://www.twinlightdesigns.com" target="_blank">Twinlight Designs</A>

Active Member WorldBuilder is on a distinguished road
    I'm building a basic, static site for a "friend". I am charging him per hour because realistically, that will cost him less than per page. A fair amount of pages, but most are the same basic code, so it won't take me that long. I thought that was the more courteous thing to do for an acquaintance.

Chris
    My Site | My Blog
    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    "Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results"
    --Albert Einstein

Full Member whiteknight is on a distinguished road
    i've never actually charged money for a site design, although realistically i could charge. I usually make sites for people as as favor, to get other trades or crafts for free myself.