+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Help, table problem= big brown area

  1. #1

    Help, tabel problem= big brown area

    Need help with my site www.zach-braff.com
    If viewed at 800x600 I get a big brown area on the far right.



    At any higher sitting it goes away. Is there anyway I can get this to go away at a 800x600 viewing also? Or not?

    Also if you see the HTML code you will see one setting of 90%, I changed it to 100% (just not updated) and it didn't help.

    Also when I signed up for the domain name I was aked if I wanted to Mask the URL. I did want to mask it, not so professioanl to have my server address at the top. Rither have it always say zach-braff.com
    I notce that with the masking it gives me a FRAME page if you go to view source (not by right clicking the image but from the tool bar)
    That frame page seems to be cause a brown strip to run down the right of the screen, on all pages but harder to see if the page has a scroll bar. Is there anyway to fix it? The strip isn't there if I go the server with out using zach-braff.com (its not there at members.cox.net/zachbraffsite)
    Anyway to fix this? or any other way to mask the URL?

  2. #2
    Active Member WorldBuilder is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    366
    Look at this part of your code:
    Code:
    <td align="right" background="images/toptile.jpg" bgcolor="#d3c199">
    <img src="images/titlebar.jpg" width="900" height="112" border="0" usemap="#topnav">
    </td>
    See the problem? You have the titlebar.jpg image set to a width of 900. Of course it will push over 100px if you only have an 800x600 screen! 900 - 800 = 100 overlap.

    HTH,

    Chris
    My Site | My Blog
    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    "Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results"
    --Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Active Member WorldBuilder is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    366
    On a side note...

    Congratulations & thanks for writing good, clean, easy-to-read code. When troubleshooting or simply viewing, it makes all the difference in the world. Nice work, and keep it up! The web needs more clean coders.

    Chris
    My Site | My Blog
    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    "Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results"
    --Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Well how do I get it to be full at any screen sizes?
    I can remove the brown area but then on a bigger size screen it's not matching up.
    is there anyway to get it to be viewed right in different sizes?

  5. #5
    Full Member cdingman is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    South Amboy NJ
    Posts
    96
    Set the width to "100%" instead of "900".


    Chris Dingman
    Webmaster
    <A HREF="http://www.cabarettheatre.org" target="_blank">Cabaret Theatre</A><BR>
    <A HREF="http://www.twinlightdesigns.com" target="_blank">Twinlight Designs</A>

  6. #6
    Active Member WorldBuilder is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    366
    How rude of me...

    Welcome to WebmasterLingo, BraffStaff!

    Chris
    My Site | My Blog
    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    "Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results"
    --Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Thanks for the welcome

    I changed the 900 to 100% but it still has the brown area.

    All that did was change the titlebar.jpg image and made it look smaller and not as clear. didnt change the tables

  8. #8
    Active Member WorldBuilder is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    366
    First of all, when I view your source NOW, it still says 900...

    Secondly, this is a problem when working with lots of images. Since they are natively a certain size, they can be a pain. They're easier to control with CSS than tables. When I get home tonight, I'll download all your images, etc and take a deeper look. Unfortunately, you'll have to give me until the end of the day, mate. I won't be home until late (EST).

    I'll be back.

    Chris
    My Site | My Blog
    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    "Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results"
    --Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    I had to use Front page, sorry but I fixed it. Just took the Table Pen and pulled it.

    yes the 900 was still on the server, i didnt upload it the change when I made the post

  10. #10
    Active Member WorldBuilder is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    366
    That code came from FrontPage?!

    So... Is it fixed?? Did you get it?

    Chris
    My Site | My Blog
    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    "Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results"
    --Albert Einstein

  11. #11
    Active Member the illest is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    152
    "I had to use Front page, sorry but I fixed it."

    I'd say he fixed it Chris.

  12. #12
    I fixed it, useing Front Page, on the main page
    Cant get it fixed on the other pages.

  13. #13
    Full Member ddshop is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8

    looking good

    The site is looking good so i will asume thats it all fixed! And if you haveing same problem on other pages maybe try lookig at the sorce to see if ti can be fixed the same way!

    I like the site tho and using frontpage can sometime be helpful as i sometimes use it also beside notepad!

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts