View Poll Results: Do you use Macromedia Studio MX ?

Voters
6. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    5 83.33%
  • No

    1 16.67%
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Who uses Macromedia Studio MX ?

  1. #1
    WebmasterLingo greggcz is on a distinguished road greggcz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Clifton, NJ
    Posts
    114

    Who uses Macromedia Studio MX ?

    I have a question. Who uses Macromedia Studio MX in particular DreamWeaver and how do you like it ?
    WebmasterLingo - It's all about your website..

  2. #2
    Full Member wiseguy316 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43
    Flash would be the only thing I'd use -- for Flash, obviously. I haven't used Dreamweaver in a while because I just seem to like doing things by hand, but I'd use Dreamweaver over Microsoft Frontpage any day of the week. Frontpage tends to bastardize a lot of things on your page. (You know, like assuming things and doing them without asking you.) Dreamweaver gives you full control, and it has a nice file management interface that allows you to manage the files on your remote server in addition to the local directory, and synchronize them easily.

  3. #3
    Full Member Marshall is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    69
    I have it and use dreamweaver alot. I used to do it by hand in Textpad but I got tired of the syntax highlighting randomly going out, which never happens in dreamweaver. It also has built in FTP and synchronization which is helpful when developing scripts in groups to get new changes. I also like the easy table button, saves me loads of time from having to figure out colspans and rowspans because it does it automatically. Occasionaly you still have to go into the code to tweak it but for the most part Dreamweaver can do it all.

  4. #4
    WebmasterLingo greggcz is on a distinguished road greggcz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Clifton, NJ
    Posts
    114
    Have you ever used Dreamweaver for php scripting ?
    WebmasterLingo - It's all about your website..

  5. #5
    Full Member wiseguy316 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43
    Originally posted by greggcz
    Have you ever used Dreamweaver for php scripting ?
    That I have not. I've always used some text editor for that. I have used its JavaScript, and I can't stand it because it complicates everything and bastardizes the code. It's easier to write it myself.

  6. #6
    WebmasterLingo greggcz is on a distinguished road greggcz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Clifton, NJ
    Posts
    114
    Try it, Dreamweaver does syntax coloring, I used to use phpeditor but dreamweaver gives me that + java and other languages


    -Gregg
    WebmasterLingo - It's all about your website..

  7. #7
    Full Member Marshall is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    69
    I love using dreamweaver for php cause of the syntax highlighting. Makes it easier to find any error in the php or just where the functions are. You have to ignore the built in php stuff for dreamweaver though because it doesnt work all that well and your better off just writing it by the code view by hand.

  8. #8
    Full Member wiseguy316 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43
    Nah, I use BBEdit. It has syntax highlighting for PHP, HTML, JavaScript, and other things I use it for like Python and such.

  9. #9
    Full Member wicked_gal00 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    56
    I use it regularily.

  10. #10
    Active Member WorldBuilder is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    366
    I only minimally use Flash, but it is the only Macromedia prog I use. Tried HomeSite, hated it. Code by hand always.

    Learning Flash now very slowly.

    Chris

  11. #11
    Full Member wiseguy316 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43
    Originally posted by WorldBuilder
    I only minimally use Flash, but it is the only Macromedia prog I use. Code by hand always.

    Learning Flash now very slowly.

    Chris
    That's where I stand, as well.

  12. #12
    Full Member Marshall is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    69
    I used to code by hand but doing so many tables got annoying with the colspans and rowspans but I am now making all my sites CSS positioned instead of tables and will probably go back to coding by hand. I will still use Dreamweaver's code view to do it though because it has syntax highlighting, built in ftp and testing server support and other tools that make coding by hand easier.

    I have also played around with flash and like it but havent gone too far in depth with it. I will play around with it more after I learn photoshop and 3d modeling

  13. #13
    Full Member wiseguy316 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43
    How good are you at the last two mentioned items? If you're better than me, I should like to become your apprentice.

  14. #14
    Full Member Marshall is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    69
    I am still a beginner at Photoshop and 3d modeling. I just started learning them recently and have been messing around without really trying anything complex.

  15. #15
    Full Member wiseguy316 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43
    Ah, so you saw my recent messings-around, then?

    http://www.webmasterlingo.com/showth...=&threadid=536

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts